And the Award Goes to…

Chip Kelly.

The Maxwell Club chose him as Coach of the Year.

Not bad for Joe College.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And the Award Goes to…

  1. ACViking says:

    The Philadelphia-based Maxwell Club has shown an occasional local bias in the past. I think this may be one of those times.

    Kelly did a fine job this year, to be sure. But on the numbers, I think the better argument is Reid earned COY. The Chiefs had only 1 season of .500 or better football in the 6 years prior to 2013. The Eagles had 5 seasons of at least .500 football in the past 6 years. I get the whole “Pro Bowl” thing. But look at the Eagles: McCoy, Peters, Mathis, Foles . . . and why not throw in DJax — all Pro Bowlers. I think that point’s a wash.

    But the craziest Maxwell Club decision came in 1974, with the selection of Temple QB Steve Joachim as College Player of the Year. He beat out (mythical-and-split) national champion USC All American RB Anthony Davis, who put on the most dominant single-game performance by a college RB I’ve ever seen against 5th ranked 9-1 Notre Dame, leading USC back from a 24-6 halftime deficit to a 55-24 victory. Joachim also topped Heisman winning Ohio State RB Archie Griffin, Oklahoma’s dominant DE Leroy Selman, and (split-mythical) national champion Oklahoma RB Joe Washington. Joachim did lead the nation in passing efficiency and TDs. But I always thought the Maxwell Club went “home town” on that one.

  2. ACViking says:


    I hope you post something on Kelly as COY. I’ve dug up some entertaining data on the performance of new coaches taking over losing teams during the past 50+ years.

Comments are closed.